Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Newbies' Questions (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=110)
-   -   why does my weight bounce about so much? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=63647)

lucyr Mon, Sep-30-02 13:12

why does my weight bounce about so much?

I have been eating less and less carb for several months, and have been very low for about 2 months. My ketostix are usuallly purple. So why does my weight bounce up and down by about 4lbs in a day? Don't tell me I shouldn't weigh myself so often! I know I shouldn't.
My only 'cheat' is white wine at weekends. I am going to stop that for a while.
Any ideas? I feel I should be losing more rapidly than I am. It could be coffee, I suppose??
I don't mind so much, becasue I do feel so well, and have so much energy. It all started because I realised that wheat was not right for me..little by little I have stopped all starches and sugars. Then I read Atkins and understood what had been going on, and started being systematic about it.
Sorry this has been so long! first post!!

agonycat Mon, Sep-30-02 13:25

Question.

Did you weigh yourself this much before you started dieting?

The food and water we consume are not weighless. If you eat an 8oz steak guess what? You gain half a pound. Drink 64 oz of water? Add 4 pounds. We ALL gain weight during the day and when our bodies process the foods and water and we take a "nature" call we lose some of the weight.

Pretty normal thing actually. :)

suze_c Mon, Sep-30-02 15:02

weight gain in a day~

lucyr, I know how that scale can bounce up and down thru the day, that is why I am going to rely more on my measurements than on my scales, cuz scale addiction is NOT a good thing... I know, I have been there... weighed myself everytime I went to the bathroom... and then some!