Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > General Health
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Mon, Jul-14-03, 08:43

Plan: my own
Stats: 35/35/22 Female 5'5.5''
BF::(/:(/:)
Progress: 0%
Exclamation Blood thinners with low-carbing?

Hi.

I'm new to low carbing. I've been doing it about a week. On Friday I had my protime checked and it was low(this is a test that tells you how thin your blood is-i am very prone to clotting so am on blood thinners to prevent the clots). Today I found a list of foods to limit if on a blood thinner because of their high amount of vitamin k(which helps the blood to clot). Every low-carb vegetable that I can actually eat is on that list. It says to limit them to one serving a day-a half cup. I have 2-3 cups a day which is 4-6 servings.