Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Low Carb Health & Technical Forums > General Health
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sun, Apr-20-03, 12:27

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 285/240/140
BF:
Progress: 31%
Default No Energy

Hi all
I have been doing low carb off and on for several years.
One thing that I have noticed after being in ketosis
for a couple of weeks is that I have absolutely no energy.
It makes me tired sometimes to just hold my arms
over my head to wash my hair in the mornings.
I have absolutely NO stamina to do things
like lifting heavy things, etc

Any ideas of what this could be?

Thanks,
Lisa
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Sun, Apr-20-03, 12:36
Lowcarb since 7/2002

Stats: 360/232/180 Female 5'9"
BF:BMI 53.2/34.3/?
Progress: 71%

Hi Lisa,

Three thoughts:

1. Are you eating enough calories? Sometimes after being in ketosis for a few weeks people's appetites drop way down and they aren't eating enough. That could lead to tiredness. You might check fitday.com to see how many calories you are consuming each day. There are various opinions in this forum about what the minimum should be, but I think most people agree it should be at least 10x your goal weight (some people think it should be higher than that).