Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Exercise Forums: Active Low-Carbers > Beginner/Low Intensity
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Tue, Nov-18-03, 22:47

Plan: atkins
Stats: 303/287/190 Female 5'5.5"(65.5")(166.5 cm)
BF:
Progress: 14%
Default Treadmill--is faster or steeper better?

I'm pretty new to a treadmill--we bought one so I can work out at home and I've used it for a week. I love it and have been experimenting with walking faster versus upping the incline, in which case I can't cover as much ground in 30 minutes but I really feel it in my outer thighs and rear end. So, what is best for weight loss? For generall fitness and health?
Also, when walking on the incline, what about posture? I try to walk as upright as possible; is that good? Or should I be leaning forward?
Another thing, that may sound silly, but this is a cheap machine from WalMart; it cost $400, and I've read at the Treadmill Doctor that anything under about $1200 is no good, but this is what we could afford right now. Anyway, I want to get as much as possible out of it, and wonder if cranking up the incline wears a treadmill out faster than walking on the level? If this machine just lasts a year of daily walking, I'll be delighted. I can't make it to the gym daily, and most of the year it's too hot outside to walk, so this seemed the best option.