Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > New Members & Low-Carbers > Newbies' Questions
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Thu, Nov-21-02, 09:06

Plan: Atkins as of 11/19/02
Stats: 152/141/132
BF:
Progress: 55%
Default Atkins: limits on meat and butter?

Hi- I'm new to Atkins (day 4 of induction, and lost 3 lbs so far, plus 8 lbs on a looser low carb plan modelled after Jonny Bowden's). I have a few basic questions:
1. Can eating too much meat stall me? Last night I managed to eat 3/4 lb of steak (free range, so low saturated fat) with no problem, but I can't believe that's ok!
2. Should I limit butter to a few tablespoons a day, like I'm supposed to limit cream? If not, why not, since they seem like essentially the same thing?
3. And is it really ok for me to eat lots of olive oil? I know it's good for me, I just seem to be able to consume an awful lot of it at one sitting (when you follow a basic mayonnaise recipe using a cup of olive oil, an egg yolk, 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, half a roast red pepper, and a few garlic cloves, you end up with an amazingly good sauce with just 3 or 4 carbs to the cup.)
4. And if I eat cheese like Brie or Gruyere , which only have 0.1 g carbs/oz, can I eat more than a few ozs a day? Or will that stall me?