Active Low-Carber Forums
Atkins diet and low carb discussion provided free for information only, not as medical advice.
Home Plans Tips Recipes Tools Stories Studies Products
Active Low-Carber Forums
A sugar-free zone

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums.
Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

Go Back   Active Low-Carber Forums > Main Low-Carb Diets Forums & Support > Daily Low-Carb Support > Atkins Diet
User Name
Password
FAQ Members Calendar Search Gallery My P.L.A.N. Survey

#1   ^
Old Sat, Jan-03-04, 20:02

Plan: Atkins
Stats: 190/186.5/150 Female 5'3"
BF:
Progress: 9%
Question is it really ok to eat all the protein you want?

I am new to this New Way of eating..and am starting induction tomorrow! Is it really ok to eat a huge steak for a meal (of course along with my vegies)?
Or should you really limit yourself to 4 to 6 oz of meat?
Sponsored Links
  #2   ^
Old Sat, Jan-03-04, 20:05
Lowcarb since 7/2002

Stats: 360/232/180 Female 5'9"
BF:BMI 53.2/34.3/?
Progress: 71%

If you are hungry, eat it. If you are not, don't. Yes, we can eat more calories when we are low carbing because our body burns fat less efficiently than it burns carbohydrates. However, if you pig out on steak -- eating it beyond the point where you are hungry -- you will consume too many calories and stop or slow down your weight loss.

Most people don't need to count calories on Atkins, but calories do count. Eat when you are hungry and stop eating when you are full. Sometimes that will mean eating a huge steak and sometimes it will mean stopping after 4 or 5 ounces.

I hope you enjoy low carbing as much as I have!
  #3   ^
Old Sat, Jan-03-04, 20:08

Stats: 190/186.5/150 Female 5'3"
BF:
Progress: 9%