Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   General Low-Carb (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   What has been your rate of loss? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=55347)

TeriDoodle Mon, Aug-12-02 11:48

What has been your rate of loss?

As a mentor, I've typed a hundred times, "The average rate of loss is 10% during induction and 5% per month thereafter..." I'm curious if that really is the average...

When you started, how many pounds did you need to lose?

What was your rate of loss during the 1st two weeks?

How long have you been LCing and what has your rate been since then?

When I started I needed to lose about 40 lbs.
I lost 25% (10#) of that during induction.
I've been LCing for 5 months and have lost another 11 pounds, which equates to about 7% per month.

Hmmmm.... apparently I'm doing better than average!

How are you doing?

Natrushka Mon, Aug-12-02 12:00

Re: What has been your rate of loss?

Quote:
Originally posted by TeriDoodle
When you started, how many pounds did you need to lose?
About 83 - goal weight is still flexible.

Quote:
What was your rate of loss during the 1st two weeks?
Following PP (the original, not PPLP) I lost 16 lbs, 19% in the first two weeks.

Quote:
How long have you been LCing and what has your rate been since then?
The firs part is easy. 54 weeks. The second? Impossible to tell. I've spent 6 week periods losing no scale weight but dropping 2 dress sizes - % of loss would be 0 if the scale was all I used for measurement. If I do the 'general math' I average about 6% a month.

Nat

DebPenny Mon, Aug-12-02 13:12

Well, since I have been on TSP for 6 months and 2 weeks, it kind of makes it easy.

Starting weight: 243#
Goal: ~~135#
Projected weight reduction: ~~108#
First two weeks' weight reduction: 11# == 10% of weight reduction
Remaining 6-months' weight reduction: 18# == 16.67% of weight reduction