Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Schwarzbein Principle (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   Substitute for Eggs / Trying to Conceive (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=47802)

pooh13 Mon, Jun-17-02 09:40

Substitute for Eggs / Trying to Conceive

Hi.

I'm just getting started on the Schwarzbein diet. I'm in my mid-30's and trying to get pregnant (I have PCOS). My symptoms are mild (it took 4 yrs to diagnose) with the only issue being infertility and very slightly irregular periods. I could probably stand to lose 10 pounds, but really not much more than that. I have thick hair and no hyturism (sp?). Anyway, I thought I would give this diet a go to see if it can help me. I eat very little meat (no red meat) and no eggs. I had some kind of back experience when I was a child and now I can't get close to eggs without gagging. That's a cooked egg in ANY form. My husband has tried making omelets, scrambled, etc and I start to throw up when I try to eat them. What can I substitute? I eat fish and chicken, but can't see eating those every day. HELP!

pooh

lisaf Mon, Jun-17-02 16:18

Hi Pooh -

Its nice to meet you!

The SP is easily adaptable to a more vegetarian diet...there is a vegetarian cookbook and you may want toconsider buying it to give you some non-meat options. Also...many people survive not eating eggs...some are allergic and some just hate them the way you do. Who said you can't have chicken for breakfast? What about cheese - ricotta, cottage cheese etc? There's also oatmeal (allowed on SP) etc. What aboutfrying up some sliced zucchini and mushrooms and pouring a hollandaise sauce over them? You may just have to not eat "breakfast" foods.

Good luck

Lisa

pooh13 Mon, Jun-17-02 16:40

Protein Powder Question