Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   low carbing in New Zealand (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=45769)

biblionz Mon, May-27-02 04:47

low carbing in New Zealand

Hi Everyone

After lurking for a while I have started posting so I thought I should introduce myself.

My name is Niki and I live in Auckland , New Zealand. I have been doing the zone for about 2 months.

I have really enjoyed getting more energy and and losing some weight. I have been amazed how my food cravings have disappeared.

I have spent the last ten year on low fat diets but always ended up tired, hungry and depressed. My mother and half sister have developed type 2 diabetes so I decided I needed to take action -and it needed to be a new type of action as the old way did not work !

The more I research the whole low-carb woe the further I want to get in to it. I have been reading both Atkins and Protein power and am thinking of switching to Atkins induction.

I have sold some of my old low fat cook books to the 2nd hand shop and am reinvesting in low-carb ones ! If any one has particular favourite please let me know. I still like to cook and don't plan on staving myself!

I have found a wealth of information on this web site and in the forum. I want to say a special hello to Tara in Invercargill - Tara I checked out your web site -you are a real inspiration to me.

Niki

Talon Mon, May-27-02 13:30

Welcome to the forum! And this WOE. :wave:

I hope you have as much success with this as I am having. The not starving, more energy and clearer face (adult acne) are definately points in low-carbings favor.

lesleyc Mon, May-27-02 15:15

hi Niki,

Great to have you hee. There are a handful of Kiwi's on the site, and Bloom is close to Auckland too.

Looks like you have alredy made a good start and reading reading reading is always a good thing ;)