Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   General Low-Carb (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Whipped Cream (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=24804)

cosima22 Mon, Nov-05-01 10:27

Whipped Cream

I am very new to the Atkins diet, but canned whipped cream all seems to be sweetened with sugar and corn syrup etc. EVEN though it SAYS 0 carbs or less than 1 gram. When I read some of these threads folks are saying that strawberries and hwipped cream are ok for dessert... and I would love to have something sweet.

I guess I am scared to try it and have it put me into gaining mode. Any one out there know the deal??? :rolleyes:

scase Mon, Nov-05-01 10:33

It's very easy to make your own whipped cream:

Heavy whipping cream
Artificial sweetener (I use Splenda)

Mix these together with a handmixer until the consistency you desire. It's a good idea to put the beaters and the bowl in the freezer ahead of time to make it very cold. The cream whips up better and quicker!

I don't think you need to add anything else (I'm doing it from memory) but I'm sure someone will correct me. :)

Regards,
Stephanie

RamonaK Mon, Nov-05-01 11:10

Yes.. and it is the perfect treat!

I made chicken cordon bleu and a spinach salad with raspberry/dijon vinegarette... with jello and whipped cream for dessert... had my hubby purring....

I find I am totally satisified on this program... of course I am on day 4 :)

Ramona

alto Mon, Nov-05-01 11:28

I knew that canned whipped cream (Redi-Whip in my part of the world) was too good to be true. 0 carbs! Probably .9 carbs per teaspoonful l(suggested serving size) so that if you eat half a can of it, as I did on one of my past LC forays in midnight desperation, you'll regret it! (Not only over the carb limit, but not nice to the tummy.)

otenn Mon, Nov-05-01 11:53