Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Low-Carb Products (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   help me find inexpensive low-carb solutions?? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=208117)

velveteen Tue, Sep-07-04 16:23

help me find inexpensive low-carb solutions??

Hi everyone,
I'm a 20yr old college student with very little money and no time to prepare and cook meals. I used to live on $1 TV dinners for almost every meal! I like the low carb diet but cannot afford much meat and cant stand hamburgers at every meal. I still love Tv dinners but have only found Marie Callenders roasted chicken dinner to be low carb(14grams I think) and its too expensive for me.
If you have any suggestions for inexpensive low carb meals and snacks I would be eternally grateful. Or if you can suggest some easy to prepare meals that would be great as well.
Thanks and Boomshanka, Christine

potatofree Tue, Sep-07-04 16:55

Eggs are inexpensive and quick/easy to prepare. You can get good deals on lettuce and such if you keep your eyes open. Tuna is easy to tun into a quick tuna salad with a bit of mayo and seasoning. You might want to browse the recipe section for ideas.

penelope Tue, Sep-07-04 16:59

..if possible make your own LC TV dinner. I Do.Look at the recipe section and freeze it in portion. You can get up to threemonths worth if you cook all in one week.

Tigs_aunt Tue, Sep-07-04 21:22

Buy food in bulk when possible.

Check ads for several grocery stores in your area to see what products, meat and produce is on sale.

See if there is a discount grocery in your area.

I also go to a U.S Foodservice outlet. I checked and there is a store located at :

300 Lawrence Drive
Livermore, CA 94550-0217 and others in SoCal.