Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Just starting and unsure! (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=165059)

CajunCarbr Fri, Feb-06-04 14:44

Just starting and unsure!

[COLOR=DarkOrchid][FONT=Tahoma]
Hi, I'm just starting out. I started Atkins on Jan. 19th. Husband and I each lost 7 lbs. first week. Week two Nothing for me. I'm very frustrated. I feel like I'm a little slimmer and not so puffy, but the scale didnt budge. Boy did that let the wind out of my sails. I was completely faithful to the plan.

Has anybody else stalled after just 1 week?

Thanks,

CajunCarbr

gmezz Fri, Feb-06-04 18:59

I am having the same problem. I have not lost a thing in about 2 weeks. Dont know what i am doing wrong.

madmike Fri, Feb-06-04 19:05

Hi guys:

I don't remember the exact quote, but Atkins doesn't consider it a "stall" until you have gone at least 30 days without any weight loss or inches lost. So, you have 3 weeks to go before you are in a stall!
Our bodies are wonderful creations, and one thing I always have believed is that sometimes my body thinks I am starving and it "fights" weight loss for awhile until it gives in. I have been stuck in the same 3 lb fluctuation for a month at a time and then all of a sudden, I go back to a steady weight loss.
This takes months, not weeks, so stay the course. Once you have reached the 30 day mark and haven't made significant progress over that time period, ask here for advice on how to break the stall.
Oh, one more thing... are you in ketosis? mad

gmezz Fri, Feb-06-04 19:08

what is ketosis? and how to you check it? I am not doing the akins diet. I am eating all protein. I heard it is almost the same.

madmike Fri, Feb-06-04 19:16