Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Atkins Diet (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   My friend the salad-hater (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=128537)

RosaAlta Wed, Aug-06-03 11:47

My friend the salad-hater

Hi everyone,
I'm on my 13th day of Atkins and loving it! My assistant at work has been impressed with my progress and she's almost ready to try it herself. (She's already ordered the book from Amazon.) Her problem: she hates salad. In fact, she hates most veggies "unless they're smothered in cheese or butter." (I told her that would be okay.)

Do you think she could have a successful induction eating 3 c of acceptable veggies per day instead of the traditional salad/veggie split? It seems like a reasonable compromise to me, but I'm still a newbie.

Thanks in advance for your responses!

etoiles Wed, Aug-06-03 11:50

I am a vegetarian low carber so I eat veggies alll the time and I do not follow the salad/veggie split rule and never did after the first two days and I don't think it has hurt my progress one bit!

As long as you keeep your carbs under 20 I would say to her enjoy her veggies smothered in cheese and butter!

There are things in the world more harmful than 3 C. of veggies a day! :p

kellyuk Wed, Aug-06-03 11:52

I'm another salad-hater and ate 3 cups of cooked veggies a day on Induction and lost well, I also do the butter and cheese on them too YUMMY

atiaran Wed, Aug-06-03 11:54

I think that should be fine. You can also tell her to start small on the salad, and work up to a larger one. Like have one leaf of lettuce and one slice of onion or tomato with her hamburger pattie, and then work up to a taco salad where most of it is ground beef and so on. That's how I did it and now I love the stuff!

drchickon Wed, Aug-06-03 11:57