Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Ready to start...Big Question (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=125770)

kpc819 Fri, Jul-25-03 23:08

Ready to start...Big Question

Hi! My name is Kristin and I am ready to get started Low-carbing it......But I am a huge Snapple and Iced Tea addict.

What can I drink other than water??? I have read some posts here and on other pages about Crystal Light. The consensus seems to be that it is not good for using on this diet.

HELP!

Kristin

Marypooh Sat, Jul-26-03 00:10

Hi Kristin!
I'm a newbie too, but have been "lurking" & reading the wealth of information on this site for a little over a week---WOW! just about sums it up!
Well, anyway, the consensus does appear to be to try and drink mainly water---we need a TON in order to flush the fat out of our bodies. Diet soda, iced tea, etc. will NOT do the same thing--at least for most people.
I'm just about into my 3rd week of LC'ing & was a HUGE diet mountain dew FREAK--I'm talking about 2-3 Liters/day!!! I thought that I could do this diet & still drink it--after all, no carbs, or calories for that matter. But, I've found if I drink more than 12 oz per day, I will NOT see the scale move!
I really am surprised how much I am beginning to like the taste of water! And, am even more surprised that I didn't go through some kind of "caffeine withdrawl" from not having my "dew". In fact, I've not had the headaches & mood swings that I would often get if I went a few too many hours without my "fix" (of diet mt dew, of course!) Now, I'll "treat" myself with a glass at dinner if my water intake for the day is good. Try that, you'll be surprised, you probably won't miss it as much as you think!

Skamito Sat, Jul-26-03 00:35

Marylou is definately right about water, water, water!