Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Atkins Diet (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   Favourite snack? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=121456)

newkimmy Wed, Jul-09-03 08:50

Favourite snack?

Hi everybody,

I'm new to Atkins, so obviously I'm on induction. I find the snacks toughest. In the evening, it's just not appetizing to open a can of salmon (which is what I've been doing). I have also gone for slices of cheese, or ham rolled around cream cheese. I have also tried the Atkins bars, but I want to keep them to a minimum, if possible.

Do you guys have any other ideas?

Kim.

Mrs. Eldon Wed, Jul-09-03 08:53

Sugar Free Jello :yay:

lbiessen Wed, Jul-09-03 08:57

Cheese sticks and Slim Jims

babeez1 Wed, Jul-09-03 09:04

Be careful with sugar free jello...it may stall becasue of aspartame...however some people don't ahve problems!!! I like to have whipped cream...the chocolate reddi-wip is great...just only allow yourself a little and no more. :nono: The regular heavycream whipped up is good with a couple of packets for splenda mixed in.

babeez1 Wed, Jul-09-03 09:06

oh sorry forgot to mention...if you like jello you can make your own with knox geletina dn koolaid packets (unsweetwned of course). Sometimes sweet drinks are enough to stop the desert craving. Diet V8 splash only has 3 carbs.....

MRobs Wed, Jul-09-03 09:10

I like to have a small handfull of olives. I am also a fan of beef jerky. I usually go to a warehouse store and buy a big container with about 20 individually packed pieces. I also buy individual packets of peanuts (that way I don't get out of control)...but nuts are not allowed on induction so you will have to wait a couple of weeks for that.

Sometimes I make up a batch of deviled eggs and pop one of those.

When I am craving something sweet I usually make a cup of tea and add cream and splenda.