Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Atkins Diet (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   Can I "Cheat" With Good Carbs??? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=105172)

paradise Tue, May-13-03 18:49

Can I "Cheat" With Good Carbs???

Hi! I've pretty much been at the same weight for the past five months. I made it through the holidays fine (losing weight over Thanksgiving and losing weight over Xmas and New Year's). I've been LCing for 9 1/2 months and have been diligent about not cheating. I've been trying to decide if my body has settled in to its ideal body weight, which is just short of goal. I've been reading other posters cheating or binging and getting a little whoosh as a response. Sounds tempting but I can't justify putting refined carbs into my body for the sake of weightloss (not to mention that I don't know if my body will react with the cramps, headaches, bloated-ness, etc. that other posters report). I usually take in 40-50g of carbs a day. I have been keeping my fat % up between 65-70% daily. Question is, can I shock my system by raising my carbs to 90-100g of "permitted" carbs?

red1cutie Tue, May-13-03 19:29

Hi paradise! Is 50g your CCL? I don't think you should do what you are suggesting. If I were you I would increase your fat above 70% and see what happens. Give it some time to work when you do that.

Good luck!

Peace
red

chelles Tue, May-13-03 20:29

If I was going to do this, I'd use berries or another fruit to raise carb levels. I could probably eat a cup and half of strawberries, but if I were cheating with donuts or brownies, I'd end up eating 5 or 6.

Pick something you like that's forbidden, but isn't really too bad. Maybe wheat toast or a good fruit.

Karen Wed, May-14-03 00:14

You might want to look at the reversal diet outlined in Atkins book. It's low-fat and high carb. Grains, fruits and the like.

Karen

whyspers Wed, May-14-03 06:25