Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Newbie with questions (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=105004)

kathjef Tue, May-13-03 07:28

Newbie with questions

Hi!
My name is Kathy and I live in beautiful Willow Street, Pennsylvania. I have 7 children ranging in age from 24 to 3. I have a terrific supportive husband. I work as a server and preschool teacher. My oldest is getting married August 23rd and I want to look GOOD for his wedding.

Well this is day 7 of induction for me and I have some questions for all of you. I have a few complications that I was wondering if anyone else has or knows about. First, I had my gallbladder out 6 years ago, so I sometimes fight the runs with high fat. Second I am on two anxiety medications. Both made me gain weight but I don't know if that should be a problem. Second I bought the Ketosis strips and I had a trace last week but this week it is registering negative. I have that metallic breath some people talk about. I have read Atkins book and go no where without it, but it really dosen't answer these questions for me. Can anyone help me? Is it so good to have a forum like this.

I hope to get to know you all!!

Blessings-
Kathy :confused:

No_Lemons Tue, May-13-03 07:40

I don't want to discourage you, but your medications could be a problem...

I spent 7 years on various anti-depressants and gained about 10-12 pounds a year...diets of ANY kind did not work. Atkins talks about medications in his book (I think Ch. 20) and tries to get you to go "natural" . That may not be realistic for you.

I recently got off my meds and have started LCing for the 3rd time and am doing much better in my success.

I hope I'm wrong, but I think your meds will hinder your progress.

Rosebud Tue, May-13-03 18:40

Hi Kathy, welcome!