Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Salads Veggies & Side Dishes (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Taco-less Taco Salad!! YUM!! (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=46817)

hannahsmom Thu, Jun-06-02 18:56

Taco-less Taco Salad!! YUM!!

I make this for lunch at work at the salad and spaghetti counter.

Ingredients
ground beef (usually from the spaghetti counter)
iceberg lettuce
diced tomato
diced onion
grated cheese
sour cream
salsa
sliced hot peppers

Directions
1. Pile on tons of lettuce, onion, peppers and 2 TBS tomato
2. Lop on sour cream and salsa
3. Spice it up with Tabasco
4. Top with Grated cheese

Enjoy!Bon Apetit!

Nancy :wave:

bearbear Tue, Jun-18-02 12:55

Avocado?

I am new to this and just wanted to know if it is safe to add avocado to this as well !

Karla Tue, Jun-18-02 20:51

Nancy,

Good idea; fortunately we can still eat the best part of a Taco salad!

And bearbear, avocadoes are defintely on the list of low carb veggies :cheer: :cheer: When I started this WOE, boy was I glad to discover that, because I love avocadoes.

Karla

Cinderella Wed, Jun-19-02 08:41

I love these. I order them in resturants..lol. "Taco salad with no tacos please...and extra sourcream and salsa...." The one place we go to has two kinds...a ground beef and a chicken...I usually order the chicken!

YUMMMM

cin

MsJeri101 Tue, Jul-01-03 17:31

Taco salads are my favorite dinner. But I was missing the "crunch" of the taco chips so I got the Atkins Crunchers Nacho Cheese flavored and added some....Yummy! Also tried the nacho cheese crunchers as nachos with the cheese, meat, sour cream and olives on top and it was "Heaven!" Enjoy!

siara28 Fri, Jan-07-05 16:04

Bumping!!

I was craving tacos, so I am glad the search mode goes WAY BACK IN TIME!!

This looks good, I am going to try it tonight, YUM!!!!!

Heidi

bnicook Sat, Jan-08-05 09:20