Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Triple Digits Club (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=49)
-   -   Hello folks (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=169792)

DanMo Sat, Feb-28-04 13:16

Hello folks

Hope its okay to cross post this, I put it in the general section too:

Here is bit about me, so I don't feel so voyeuristic reading so much about all of you without sharing a bit. I'm a 30 year old male living in Missouri. I've been overweight most of my life. Both my parents had weight problems (to a lesser degree) but both of them dealt with it later in life (my mother using Atkins which I only learned a few months ago.)

Back in early 1997, on the advice of my doctor I went on a traditional low fat, low cal diet (he was an Atkin's skeptic). I lost about 65 pounds in 5 months. It was incredibly hard to stick with but I did it.....for a while.

In July of 1997, I graduated from college and the following month I started law school. Those of you who have been there know what I mean when I say that the first year of law school is NOT conducive to dieting. I picked up every bad habit in the book. I started drinking caffeinated beverages as if they were fuel to keep me awake to study more. I completely stopped caring what I ate because of the stress and simple lack of time. I'd skip lunch and dinner doing a paper or preparing for the next day of classes and then end up buying Oreos at the gas station at 2 in the morning to curb my hunger so I could sleep for 4 hours then get up, chug a 20 ounce glass containing half milk, half espresso and 3 tablespoons of sugar, and do it all over again. Hell, I even started smoking some (but smoked my last cigarette on May 18, 2000, graduation day, thankfully.) Basically everyone I know from law school either gained weight or in the case of some female classmates became anorexic. Healthy lifestyles just weren't part of it.