Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Beginner/Low Intensity (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   A weight lifting puzzler, lol (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=186306)

RoseTattoo Sun, May-23-04 09:55

A weight lifting puzzler, lol

Hi there, it's me again, the insatiable body building questioner. :D Here's the stumper this time:

So I'm cutting, right? Eating at a caloric deficit, doing a good deal of cardio, hoping to lose body fat.

Since this is the case, what benefit can I expect to see from the heavy weight lifting I'm doing? I'm not a newbie to it, so I can't be building muscle, right, 'cause I'm not eating an excess of calories?

So--basic question--why weight train during cutting?

Thank you. You may choose to hit me upside the head now. :D

LisaS Sun, May-23-04 11:47

so that you retain your muscle - otherwise, your body could choose to catabolize muscle and not just fat when operating hypocaloric.

legwarmers Sun, May-23-04 13:39

be careful of all the cardio while cutting. how much are you currently doing?

RoseTattoo Sun, May-23-04 14:09

20 minutes of high intensity interval training 2 or 3 times a week, followed by 10 minutes of moderate cardio

40 or so minutes of moderate cardio once or twice a week

Is that too much cardio? What do you recommend instead? I lift heavy 3 times a week, in addition. I have a very stubborn 5 pounds of fat that NEEDS to go! :D

Chipperoo Sun, May-23-04 15:28

Sounds ok to me, just wouldn't recommend doing the HIIT on same day as weights.

Built Sun, May-23-04 15:30

What chip said

RoseTattoo Sun, May-23-04 16:41

Thank you guys. :)

I'm sure I'll be back with more questions. :)

mps Sun, May-23-04 18:44

resistance training