Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   General Low-Carb (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Help needed with cholesterol results (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=67155)

purnois Tue, Oct-22-02 17:11

Help needed with cholesterol results

Just got my cholesterol results in the mail. I'm not sure if I should be concerned or not. It says:

Cholesterol - 239
Glucose - 87
Triglycerides - 87
HDL - 45
LDL - 177 (with a note that says this is high)

There was also a handwritten note saying to decrease my saturated fats, increase my exercise and see my primary physician.

Help! I need to go back and see what my Atkins book says. Can anyone give me a quick brief on what they think? I'm not good at reading this stuff. And I don't want some doctor telling me that I am killing myself on Atkins. I was expecting fantastic numbers and I'm guessing from the results that they are not.

I need some advice...................

Should I be worried? Before starting LCing (last feburary) my cholesterol was 202. I need you experts to tell me what you think.

Thanks!

Kathy :rheart:

rustpot Tue, Oct-22-02 17:55

Cholesterol

Most self test systems give the following ideas of what is "normal"

Less than 200 mg/dL 'Desirable' is normally said to be the level that puts you at lower risk for heart disease. A cholesterol level of 200 mg/dL or greater is said to increase your risk.

200 to 239 mg/dL 'Borderline-high.'

240 mg/dL and above 'High' blood cholesterol. A person with this level has more than twice the risk of heart disease compared to someone whose cholesterol is below 200 mg/dL.

HDL cholesterol - High density lipoproteins (HDL) is the 'good' cholesterol. HDL carry cholesterol in the blood from other parts of the body back to the liver, which leads to its removal from the body. So HDL help keep cholesterol from building up in the walls of the arteries.