Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Kitchen Talk (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=42)
-   -   How to make an omelet...need help (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=129166)

peiqinglon Fri, Aug-08-03 16:34

How to make an omelet...need help

Okay. So I tried making an omelet last night...needless to say it didn't go so well. My omelet looked more like a pile of egg than anything else. What am I doing wrong?! Here's what I did:

1) Cracked four eggs into a bowl and used a chopstick to mix it up.
2) Put oil into frying pan and let it get warm. Temp set to medium/hot.
3) Poured the eggs in and let it cook...perhaps I tried to turn the egg to early?

I'm still fairly new to cooking, never done it much I always just went out to eat, but figured I could follow atkins better if I did the cooking myself and save some money :D. So if anyone could help me, it would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks :D.

watchit Fri, Aug-08-03 16:50

Sounds like you did it right. Make sure the temp isn't too hot or you'll burn them, and make sure it's not to low or it will take forever for them to cook! Did you try to fold the circle in half, or flip the whole thing over?

RoseTattoo Fri, Aug-08-03 16:59

I am the Omelet Queen. :p Listen up:

Mix the eggs thoroughly in a bowl. Put some olive oil in a small skillet, and heat using the medium setting. When the oil is heated, pour eggs in. Pick the skillet up by the handle and rock gently back and forth over the heat. After a minute or even less, use a spatula to lift up the part of the omelet that is set . Allow the uncooked eggs to run underneath the lifted up part, to the bottom of the pan. Continue rocking the pan gently and repeat the lifting etc. until the entire omelet is lightly cooked. Then flip one half of the omelet over the other half. Let this cook until the bottom is very lightly browned. You're done!