Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Newbies' Questions (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=110)
-   -   joint pain? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=33287)

jenthenerd Thu, Feb-07-02 23:25

joint pain?

Hello all,
I am new to this plan - just a couple of days - find myself fantasizing about sugar! :( which i'm sure is normal and will subside if I stick to it.

Has anyone had joint pain while in the induction period? I'm sure this has to be due to the flu or something not related - but thought it warranted asking.....
thanks

gwilson38 Fri, Feb-08-02 08:42

I can relate to "fantasizing" I had a dream last night I was at a buffet and headed straight to the "sweets table" and gorged myself there..lol It is common for many to be achy for awhile when starting low-carbing....your body getting rid of toxins. I was along with having a headache, tummy upset and being real grouchy...lol. Im sure it will pass. Are U taking many vitamins? Ones that may help is potassium, calcium-magnesium. Drinking lots of water?

agonycat Fri, Feb-08-02 08:45

Are you taking your vitamins and mineral supplements?

Gwilson is correct. Up the potassium, calcium-magnesium. They help with muscle cramps and joint aches ;) They also help you sleep sounder.

Natrushka Fri, Feb-08-02 08:54

Hi there Jen and welcome to the forum :)

Joint pain is something that usually clears up with LCing, you may just be experiencing some of the symptoms of detox a little more severely than most. There's convincing evidence that grains are responsible for all kinds of nasty problems and their removal from a diet improves existing conditions dramatically.

Often joint pain can be caused by dehydration - and as you're losing a lot of fluids when you start a LC WOE drinking enough water daily is vital. Be sure you're getting at least 64 oz a day, minimum.