Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Schwarzbein Principle (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   New and Scared!! (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=89232)

MaddieMay Wed, Feb-26-03 19:00

New and Scared!!

Hi!!

I am new to LCing and am really scared! I did Atkins induction diet for a week, but decided that I liked the Schwarzbein Principle better. I only have 8 pounds to loose, but am sick and tired of being sick and tired to do it. I lost 20 lb with WW, but HATE the thought of having to continue the program. I just cannot count points any longer. I also am a very good cheater!!! I ate junk all day, but did stay within my points.

I've been LCing for 10 days now.
I don't know that I've lost any weight and I swear my belly's gettin' bigger. I realize that it's that TOM and this isn't a great time to weigh. I am 5ft 10in and want to weigh around 140-145. Is this realistic, or am I setting myself up for failure? I'm tired of relying on a number on the scale for my self worth! I really do feel better, other than being scared I'll gain weight. I have more energy, feel more sane and do feel more in control. Maybe this is a good trade off for being thin? I do, however, want both.

Some questions I have are, how do you know if you're eating too much food? I know how to count the carbs, but how do you do the rest? I guess I am just really afraid that I'll fail at this attempt, too. I want to learn to eat normally and in a healthy way. I am tired of obsessing. Any suggestions or help anyone can give me will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

tigersue Wed, Feb-26-03 21:08

Hello there,
1st keep reading the book!!!! that is the best way to ease fears.
Focus on health not weight. It is possible that you might gain weight at first, think more about how you feel. HEALTH is the big key here. We live in a society based on weight, and thin bodies.