Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Beginner/Low Intensity (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   pilates? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=46276)

shelxland Sat, Jun-01-02 16:06

pilates?

I am not good at finding time to exercise. There I said it. My husband and I even belong to a gym where the more we go the cheaper it is (his company pays more the more we go).

I have been thinking about either taking the pilates class once a week to start at the gym, or getting a video like The Method and trying to do it at home more.

Has anyone tried pilates? What did you think?

Thanks!!

Shelley

razzle Sat, Jun-01-02 17:53

wow, if you have cheap access to pilates (which can be darned spendy), go for it! It's a nice combination of strength, flexibility and cardio. If you can get a couple of walks in besides that to begin, that'd be great too.

aggieamy Mon, Jun-03-02 11:25

HI~
I just bought Windsor pilates off the internet.. she is the one that trains all the stars ;) .. Any how it was like $40 for 3 tapes .. I haven't recieved it yet, but a freind of mine did pilates twice a week and that s ALL she did , no diet or anything .. and lost like 10 pounds last semster .. I figure it will be much more easier for me to find time to do it around the house whenever I want that to drive to a gym and wait for a class to start :wave:

shelxland Mon, Jun-03-02 12:20

I went to Target yesterday and bought The Method pilates tape and a belly dancing tape. I haven't had a chance to try either yet but I can't wait... Hopefully this afternoon.

I'll let you know what I think.

k-fire Mon, Jun-03-02 17:37

re:pilates

I started pilates about a month ago at my local Gold's Gym. It is a great toning workout. My obliques started taking shape only after 2 weeks of class - something I could never get with my regular ab workout.