Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Atkins Diet (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   Vodka (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=133852)

serrelind Fri, Aug-29-03 12:28

Vodka

I heard vodka is a good substitute for wine or beer because it contains no carbs. Anyone had a bad experience with vodka?

iceman24 Fri, Aug-29-03 12:33

Ur body will burn vodka as fuel instead of fat. After its done with it it will switch over again:)

serrelind Fri, Aug-29-03 12:39

lol good to know!

Natrushka Fri, Aug-29-03 13:02

Yes, and alcohol not only gets burned before fat (alcohol is like jet fuel to your body, it's almost ketones already) it will dehydrate you. However, it won't knock you out of ketosis (due to the fact that it gets burned as ketones).

-Nat

TES Fri, Aug-29-03 13:22

Quote:
Originally Posted by serrelind
Anyone had a bad experience with vodka?

Hi!
I've had a lot of experience with vodka....most of it good :)
T.

mizzourah Fri, Aug-29-03 13:44

Have I had any bad experiences with vodka?

OOOHHhhh yeah. There was the one morning where I woke up on the couch in my underwear...but it wasn't my house, and um yeah...it wasn't my underwear either...

HA! :)

-Mizzou-rah!

serrelind Fri, Aug-29-03 13:51

hahaha :roll:

serrelind Fri, Aug-29-03 13:52

Natrushka, ahhh. I didn't know it gets burned as ketone bodies.

Well vodka doesn't have a lot of calories.. and with so much proof in it, it should give me a good knock with a couple of tbsps in my soda :D

gawdess Fri, Aug-29-03 14:31

Bad Experience with Vodka? nope

Tequila is another story!

MetilHed Sat, Aug-30-03 02:37

Quote:
Originally Posted by TES
Hi!
I've had a lot of experience with vodka....most of it good :)
T.

I second that. Although a lot of people thought I was nuts for going from Vodka and lemonade to vodka and uhh vodka (with a water side).

Met

suntanlove Sat, Aug-30-03 04:02