Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Atkins Diet (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   A bit discouraged. (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=97319)

Maren Tue, Apr-08-03 01:15

A bit discouraged.

I've been reading other low carb books like the Zone etc and feel a bit discouraged because they all say that being in ketosis is bad for you because you burn up muscle and make partly broken down ketone bodies. I must say, I'm more muscelly now than I was but worry that what they say may have some bearing on my health. I don't want to eat more carbs because this way, I'm losing a pound every 7 to 10 days. :( They all seem to agree that saturated fats are bad for you. What does it all mean!

Alina Tue, Apr-08-03 01:23

Hi Maren,

I'm not an expert, I can only tell you this: I feel so good on this WOE that I don't believe it's bad for me. My body should be shouting loud if I was mistreating it (like I did on carbojunk diet all my life).
I'm sure our experts will explain this better.
Don't worry!
Cheers!
Alina

RCFletcher Tue, Apr-08-03 02:21

Dear Maren,

If you eat enough protein you will not burn up muscle. If you're still worried do some exercise - you can actually build muscle.

Yes you do produce make partly broken down ketone bodies. This is how the plan works - but these are excreted by the kidneys and in your sweat and (unfortunatly) maybe your breath. Just be sure to drink plenty of water and all these unburned ketones will be flushed out.

I've been on Atkins for nearly 2 years. I've lost about 40lbs and generally I've never felt so good in my life. :thup:

Robert

P.S. I think a mixture of fats is good for you. I have fish oils, olive oil and the fat on meat daily.

MaryToU Tue, Apr-08-03 05:28

Maren,

I have heard this also, but I look at it this way in may case at least, I have an awful lot of fat to burn through before I need to worry about burning mussel. :p