Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Newbies' Questions (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=110)
-   -   can you have friut on the LC diet? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=148359)

petcrazed Wed, Nov-12-03 00:39

can you have friut on the LC diet?

I have been doing the atkins diet for about 1 1/2 months and i am craving fruit. can i have fruit like a small apple or some pineapple or some thinmg i need my fruit! :roll:

LilaCotton Wed, Nov-12-03 00:53

Hi there! Do you happen to have a copy of Dr. A's carb counter book? I find that really, really handy when trying to choose fruits for post-Induction. If you visit http://www.atkins.com you'll find the lists of allowed foods and when to introduce them. :)

Having said that, neither apples nor pineapples are a good choice on Atkins until possibly maintenance. Both are fairly high glycemic (they absorb into the blood system too rapidly), and apples have virtually no vitamins. I like to eat things like strawberries, raspberries and blackberries because they have a lot more bang for the buck. If you're wanting citrus, tangerines are a good choice, at about 7 net carbs each.

One thing you may want to watch, too, is how these affect your blood sugar when you eat them. Different people react differently to various foods--that's why Dr. Atkins recommends introducing foods back into your diet one at a time.

PurpleStix Wed, Nov-12-03 03:24

Cherries have really low glycemic index. Other stone fruits are pretty low too.

Lesle Wed, Nov-12-03 07:45

Hi petcrazed,
Be careful of adding fruits back into your diet.
And, according to the book, berries are the fruits that should be added first, and only in moderation.
Always best to check the book, so you don't get off track, and set off cravings for other sweet things.
Keep up the good work :thup:
Lesle

Kristine Wed, Nov-12-03 07:52