Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   General Low-Carb (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Which fats are best? Animal vs. Vegetable? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=52689)

HulaGirl Thu, Jul-25-02 02:20

Which fats are best? Animal vs. Vegetable?

I am new to LC, and like alot of people, am having a hard time making the brain switch to eating lots of fat. This afternoon I made bacon, and then scrambled my eggs in the leftover bacon grease!

Believe me, a true first! I couldn't believe I was actually doing it!!
:eek:

I'm ok with consuming the fat, but shouldn't I still be concerned about my heart? Which fats do you think are better for you? Animal, or vegetable (such as olive oil)...

Fumih_81 Thu, Jul-25-02 03:14

well, actually i have read in some LC plans they mentioned abt good and bad fats....but I am not particular abt fats, so I had a vague idea only. If I am not wrong, they recommended taking less of animal fats...

but DANDR allows unlimited usage of animal and vege fats, so long you feel satisfied. When I first started out on Atkins, this issue didnt actually come to me.....I was already very very happy that i can have lots and lots of my favourite butter. But didnt the media report margarine isnt that healthy either? Olive oil is ok.

Throughout my LCing, I am just particular abt daily carbohydrates intake(taking note on those breadings,sauces, carb contents minus the fiber)....i am more liberal on fats, proteins, veges and sometimes fruits.

razzle Thu, Jul-25-02 12:06

From Schwarzbein Principle:

Butter, cheese, chicken fat, cream, duck fat, eggs, goose fat, nutmeg oil, sour cream, almond oil, avacado oil, canola oil, hazelnut oil, olive oil are among the best. She doesn't list bacon fat, but it's fine if the bacon didn't have sugar, nitrates, etc.