Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Newbies' Questions (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=110)
-   -   Salad carb count (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=176826)

achiever Sun, Apr-04-04 13:50

Salad carb count

Hello! I'm a newbie on this forum and to the lc way of life. I lost 15lbs. last month and love this plan. However, I have a question that I don't think anyone else has asked. Why do I have to limit my salad (or vegies) to 3 cups a day if the spinach leaves I use only have a few carbs per 4 cups? Can't I eat more salad as long as I'm under my carb limit? I love salad and want to eat more of it, but don't want to thwart my efforts!

Thanks!

PecanPie Sun, Apr-04-04 15:23

Hi - You only have to limit it during induction. I try to get most of my carbs from vegetables.

PecanPie

MyJourney Sun, Apr-04-04 15:29

I dont even think you need to limit it during induction. I think 3 was just a rough estimate and something to make sure people got a minimal amount of veggies in. Remember, other foods like cheese and eggs have some carbs too. If you stay under your carb count and you want to eat more veggies, I dont see why not. I view it as a 3 cup minimum rule.

Blondey63 Sun, Apr-04-04 16:19

Good question..... I was wondering that myself. I will definitely up my veggie intake...love the veggies...so good for you... Welcome to you, sounds like you are doing great!

Marg140 Sun, Apr-04-04 17:17

Hi, welcome to the forum. I'm new too, around the same to loose as you. I wonder the same thing about the salad. I've had 2 salads today, about 2 cups each, plus the cheese, meat, 3 cherry tomatoes, dressing, cucumber etc... I figure if I'm loosing then I must be okay. If you stop loosing, cut back. I hope that doesn't happen to me, I don't know what I'd eat.
Margie

achiever Sun, Apr-04-04 18:08

salad carb count

Thanks to all who answered my question. I'm going to eat more salad!!!