Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Atkins Diet (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   Exercise (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=181470)

Pandora23 Thu, Apr-29-04 11:00

Exercise

Hello everyone! I have a question about what type of exercise would be best for me. I do not want to gain any more muscle, I have been cursed with an extremely muscular build and want to slender down. It is very easy for me to build more muscle too and I dont want to replace what fat I lose with muscle. I hope that makes sense. Basically I want to get smaller and with as easy as it is for me to bulk up what type of exercises should I try and which should I avoid?

strictgirl Thu, Apr-29-04 11:37

I am no exercise expert but walking is great exercise and generally does not bulk up muscles. I go for long distance at a moderate pace.

Also, swimmers bodies are toned but not bulked up with large muscle groups so swimming may work for you. Good Luck.

Nancy LC Thu, Apr-29-04 11:54

I was always struck with how whippy and wiry Yoga devotees are. They seem to have smaller muscles than folks that do weight lifting.

Pandora23 Thu, Apr-29-04 12:19

Thanks guys! I'll give the swimming a try and look into the yoga. I already am doing quite a bit of running and walking. I'm def going to have to cut the running out though because my legs are getting even larger. Yuck!

LucyLucy Thu, Apr-29-04 12:29

Yoga, Pilates, and running!

LL :)

Pandora23 Thu, Apr-29-04 13:18

Won't running build up more leg muscle?

serrelind Thu, Apr-29-04 13:21

I would avoid running and swimming too. Any activity with resistance involved will build up muscle. Try walking at a quick pace (no incline!).

BTW, I too am cursed with huge muscular legs so I wholy symphatize with you.

Serri

Elsah Thu, Apr-29-04 13:50