Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   General Low-Carb (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Walnuts... am I missing something? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=40240)

worldfalls Thu, Apr-11-02 11:04

Walnuts... am I missing something?

I was recently in the grocery store trying to get some nuts for a snack. I'm new to LC so I'm constantly being amazed at the carb counts of things.

Well, I went up and down the snack aisle checking out the nut section and found that all varieties and brands have some sugar count. Even the much beloved macadamia had 2g sugar per serving.

Being in atkins induction i want to avoid all added sugar if at possible. And yes, I know technically im not supposed to have nuts at all yet but i'm away from home for extended periods during the day and need to have something on hand to snack on that doesn't require any sort of refrigeration (and i hate pork rinds lol).

Anyway, just by accident I passed the diamond walnuts in the baking aisle and found that they had ZERO, yes 0, net carbs per serving. 3 g carbs total and 3g of fiber.

my question is... what am i missing? a 0 net carb snack that has fiber AND protein? why the hype over macadamia when walnuts beat the pants off them?

i figure there must be a catch somewhere.....

doreen T Thu, Apr-11-02 11:39

Hi worldfalls, welcome aboard.

Actually, what the manufacturer has done is .. they've pre-subtracted the fiber. So, those walnuts have 3 grams of digestible carb in them AND 3 grams of fiber in addition. (ie, 6g total).