Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   New to lowcarb *first day (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=18997)

techgirl Wed, Sep-05-01 08:48

New to lowcarb *first day

Hi, it's my first day. I am a newbie. I have been trying to loose weight for as long as I can remember and I hope this new WOE will work for me. I am facing a big challenge as I want to go down to 150 from 235. I am hopefull I can do it. It's very hard for me to stick a eating plan since I travel for work, I mean I eat in restaurant every day, three times a day....for 45 weeks out of the year. So, you can see how it has been really hard for me to focuse on healthy habits. But, I think I can do it with the low-carb WOE.

Would love to hear from people who travel alot and can give me some tips on how to stay on track. Thanks and wish me luck.

Linnea Wed, Sep-05-01 08:55

Great to see you, Techgirl

I can't say I travel a lot. But I do work in the heart of Vancouver...and I am horrible at making myself lunches. So, what alternative is there? Must eat out! :D

I have found eating out is really not that bad. I will give you some examples of my experiences.

I love sushi...however, rice is out. Sashimi! (just the fish)

McDonald's cheeseburgers taste EXACTLY the same with no bun...also you can have a side of nuggets.

Greek, I get the potatoes exchanged for greek salad and a meatball instead of the rice.

Chinese, Stir Fry with no rice.

Churches chicken. Need I say more.

At last but not least. You have to love salads. Every restaurant has salads right.

whew...blabbering.

Good luck. Keep us in the loop as to how things are going.

techgirl Wed, Sep-05-01 09:01

Thanks for the suggestions. I will try the stir fry at lunch.
I had a ham and onion omellet at breakfast with grapefruit juice. I think the grapefruit juice was a mistake???? not sure???