Active Low-Carber Forums

Active Low-Carber Forums (http://forum.lowcarber.org/index.php)
-   Atkins Diet (http://forum.lowcarber.org/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   Diet Pills? (http://forum.lowcarber.org/showthread.php?t=181260)

skinnbones Wed, Apr-28-04 12:07

Diet Pills?

I had someone ask why I don’t just take a pill to boost my metabolism. What’s wrong with someone on Atkins doing this? I didn’t know what to say as I am still new to the diet myself.

onehotmama Wed, Apr-28-04 12:20

Diet pills are very dangerous, what they claim is safe today could easily harm us tommorrow.

newgirlPEI Wed, Apr-28-04 12:42

It all depends on what kind of pills they were referring to. There are prescription pills and other types of diet pills that contain ephedra...at the end of the day the only healthy way to boost your metabolism is to get up and move!!! (something I wish I could do more of!!!!)

jennilu Wed, Apr-28-04 12:49

I remember reading someplace that diet pills could actually hinder weight loss, rather than improve it if you are LC-ing.

I'll try to find where I read that.

Britgrl Wed, Apr-28-04 14:28

I'm so sick of seeing the Trim Spa commercials every station I watch. All because Anna Nicole has lost all this weight and its all because of Trim Spa. Who knows, she might have had liposuction, etc and I'm sure she had a personal trainer/nutrition chef to help her out a lil too....we have no idea the 100% truth as to how she lost all that weight. I know the stuff is ephedra-free, but like yall said, who knows what kind of long term, un-documented stuff could come out of this. I was in Wal Mart today and saw a HUGE stand for Trim Spa, they looked like they were rolling off the shelves...

jennilu Wed, Apr-28-04 14:31

I tried Trimspa... it didn't work. I just felt really jumpy and (oddly enough) more hungry than before I was on it. Plus, it's expensive. Needless to say, I didn't use it for long.

lilli Wed, Apr-28-04 16:25